top of page
JFRLB_affiche_24sept_edited.jpg

FROM WHERE I STAND

Clentélex, 23, is an Ivorian stand-up comedian. To the violence of the poor neighbourhood he grew up in , Abobo, he opposes humour and stages the ups and downs of his daily life in the small venues of Abidjan.

His destiny changed the day he won a competition organised in Côte d'Ivoire by the prestigious Montreux comedy festival: he was invited to perform in Switzerland, on the stage where many of his idols began. A dream. A challenge.

From Abidjan to Montreux, Clentélex is going to make the greatest journey of his life, to discover the reality of a world he has fantasized about. As the spokesman for an African youth thirsting for emancipation, he hopes to conquer the European public by shaking it up a bit. But who will this experience shake up the most?

A Documentary by Noémie Mayaudon and Jean-Charles Guichard - 50mn - France 24 / RTS

© Barnabe / InFocus / France 24

TRAILER

bottom of page

JFRLB_affiche_24sept_edited.jpg

Clentélex est un humoriste ivoirien de 23 ans. A la violence du quartier pauvre où il a grandi, Abobo, il a choisi d’opposer le rire et tourne en dérision son quotidien dans les petites salles d’Abidjan.

Son destin bascule le jour où il remporte un concours organisé en Côte d’Ivoire par le prestigieux festival d’humour de Montreux : il est invité à se produire en Suisse, sur la scène où nombre de ses idoles ont commencé. Un rêve. Un défi.

D’Abidjan à Montreux, Clentélex va faire le plus grand voyage de sa vie, découvrir la réalité d’un monde qu’il a fantasmé. Porte-parole d’une jeunesse africaine qui a soif d’émancipation, il espère conquérir le public européen en le bousculant un peu. Mais qui cette expérience remuera-t-elle le plus ?

Un documentaire de Noémie Mayaudon et Jean-Charles Guichard - 50mn - En distribution

© Barnabe / InFocus

TRAILER